- History
- Past projects
- Current members

- How we work
- How members make proposals to the coalition
- OF e-mail list

- OF discussion list

- Membership requirements
- Membership application process
- Membership application forms

Administrative folk

All content copyright Our Freedom: A Pagan Civil Rights Coalition. All rights reserved.

Date: 17 September 2001
For: Immediate Release

It is with profound regret and outrage that our coalition of national Pagan organizations, clergy, civil rights advocates and community organizers notes the irresponsible statements made by Jerry Falwell and Pat Robertson on the "700 Club" broadcast on September 13, 2001.

We would like to remind Mr. Falwell and Mr. Robertson that the recent heinous acts of terrorism suffered by our country were perpetrated by fanatics intending to reduce our citizenry to their level. These acts were certainly not perpetrated by Pagans. While Mr. Falwell has issued a general apology, his attempt to turn a horrible tragedy to personal gain is reprehensible and must be seen for what it is.

In this time of great crisis, people of faith turn to their leaders for guidance. American Pagan leaders have supported rescue and relief efforts from the first hours of the tragedies. We are continuing to marshal our resources to provide aid to the stricken, as well as to protect and defend our American Muslim brothers and sisters from unwarranted bigotry and attacks. We call upon Mr. Falwell and Mr. Robertson to join with us in caring for those in need and treating as sacred our deeply-held American principle of religious freedom.

Our Freedom: A Pagan Civil Rights Coalition
Issued by the following individuals and groups:
Nancy Machin, President, and Cairril Adaire, National Coordinator, Pagan Educational Network, Inc.;
Dana D. Eilers, J.D.;
Ellen Evert Hopman, Pagan author and Druid, Order of the Whiteoak (Ord Na Darach Gile);
Rev. Rose "Owl" Wise and Rev. Tom "Moose" Dixon, Stewards, Ozark Avalon;
Rev. Selena Fox, High Priestess, Circle Sanctuary;
Abby Willowroot, Executive Director, Goddess 2000 Project;
Rev. Rona Coomer-Russell, Coordinator, Isis Invicta Military Mission;
Andras Corban Arthen, Director, EarthSpirit;
Anne Newkirk Niven, Editor-in-Chief, SageWoman, PanGaia, and The Blessed Bee Magazines;
Rev. Joan Van Becelaere, President, Phaedra Oorbeck, Vice-President, and Rev. Patrick Price, Trustee, Covenant of Unitarian Universalist Pagans, Inc.;
Rev. David L. Oringderff, Ph.D., Executive Director, Sacred Well Congregation;
Charlayne Denney, Founding Elder, Equitas Venificii Tradition of Wicca;
Marilyn E. Dillon, Director of Communications, Council of the Magickal Arts, Inc.;
Phyllis Curott, J.D., H.Ps.;
Rev. Victoria Mieth, RN, Celtic Trad. Order of Druids;
M. Macha NightMare, Priestess & Witch, Pagan Author;
Maryam Webster, Founding Elder, WyrdWeavers Collective;
Michael T. Anderson, President, Covenant of the Goddess;
Rev. Bill Kilborn, National Treasurer and Membership Director, Alternative Religions Educational Network;
Kirk White, Executive Director, Church of the Sacred Earth;
Jerrie Hildebrand, Priestess, Writer and Earth Religious Community Organizer;
Michael Dorn, President, Pagan Community Council of Ohio;
Cecylyna Dewr, Executive Director, and Dagonet Dewr, Membership Coordinator, International Pagan Pride Project;
Rev. Patrick M. McCollum, National Coordinator, Lady Liberty League Prison Ministry